Moving Forward

by nemerson

As always, thanks so much for checking on us and offering your support. We know you all have your own life challenges, too. So, it’s very humbling when you take the time to think of us and check-in.

Feeding Tube
Step one in our esophageal cancer treatment plan is done. I had the feeding tube installed two weeks ago, and have been using it during the night. It needs to run for 12 hours a day in order to get the amount of calories necessary. We’ve also been putting some of my supplements directly into the tube, which saves me some swallowing. So far, so good. It’s more work, but it saves me having to eat when my throat is too painful. I’ve been trying to learn how to do it all myself, but as you can imagine, Jill has been a wonder at taking care of me and helping me adjust. My parents also arrived from Florida and are helping out in all sorts of ways. I am a blessed man to have so many caring people around me.

Hospital Stay
After getting the feeding tube, we apparently went home from Boston a bit too soon. I ended up in the local ER with a 104 temperature a day later. As usual, we’re not sure why, but after a bunch of IV antibiotics and steroids, the fevers subsided and I got to go home (4 days later). I still need to stay on Tylenol around-the-clock in order to keep the fever from rising, but I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised, as I have two active cancers currently untreated. I’m slowly building up my stamina again, trying to walk around our driveway a few times a day . I’ll need all the strength I can muster for the upcoming surgery on my esophagus.

The “Big” Surgery
During the feeding tube insertion, the surgeon poked around inside my abdomen and found that there was a lot of scar tissue from a previous surgery. In fact, he found that my stomach was actually attached to my liver–and a few other things. This will make it more difficult to pull up my stomach and attach it to the healthy section of my esophagus, but he’s still willing to try. If he gets in there and finds that it is impossible, he would have to remove part of my colon and use that in place of my esophagus. He also discovered that the tumor in my esophagus is 10cm, so removing that (and a little extra to be safe) won’t leave very much healthy tissue to attach to on the top end. All of this is way more than we bargained for. We’ve tentatively scheduled the “big” surgery for September 26. I’ll check into the hospital the night before. It is a MAJOR surgery, averaging 10 hours to complete, barring any complications. The surgeon was clear that there could be any number of complications, but since this is our only treatment option, we are going to go for it. He expects me to need at least two weeks in the hospital afterwards, as any number of things can go wrong with the work done on the inside and healing will take longer for me with my beat-up body. Some people recover and go home sooner, so we’ll hope for that.

As I mentioned in the last post, this is new territory for us. Over the years, we’ve been accustomed to difficult, but tolerable treatments for the Hodgkins. However, this new cancer requires more drastic and risky treatment. So, here’s where I admit that I’m scared. If they brought me in today for the surgery, I would be quite skeptical about my chances of recovering, considering the shape I’m in. That’s why I’m working on walking each day and taking all my supplements to get in shape for it. We’re hoping I improve each day and gain strength and feel more physically prepared for the surgery before it arrives. We aren’t 100% decided about the procedure. As the surgeon said, I can always bail out right until the point they put me to sleep. If I don’t do the procedure, his best guess was I would have about a year or so, which would be unpleasant, of course. I honestly don’t have much “fighting spirit” to intentionally walk into something this difficult. But we’re praying God will use the next few weeks of exercise and enjoying the late summer weather to rejuvenate me and provide as He always has.

We know you’re all willing to do whatever you can to help, whether near or far. Thanks for being on our team. It is a huge blessing to us. I will try to post again when we’re closer to the surgery. Take care…